Staff and Support

The Saronic Harbors Archaeological Research Project operates with permission of the Greek Ministry of Culture, under the auspices of the American School of Classical Studies. We would like to thank Dr. Konstantinos Kissas, the Head of the ΛΖ' Ephorate of Prehistoric and Classical Antiquities for the Corinthia, and his staff, especially Ms. Panayiota Kasimi, Mr. Vassilis Tassinos, and Ms. Eleni Balomenou, for their cooperation and support. We would like to thank Dr. Dimitris Athanassoulis, the Head of the 25th Ephorate of Byzantine Antiquities, for his support and cooperation. We wish to thank the director of the American School, Professor Jack Davis, and the Administrator of the American School, Ms. Maria Pilali, for their efforts on our behalf. We also wish to thank the villagers of Korphos and the demos of Solygeia for their warm welcome, their hospitality, and their support. And we thank Professor Timothy Gregory, co-director of the Eastern Korinthia Archaeological Survey and director of the Ohio State Excavations at Isthmia, for his support and advice.

SHARP could not operate without the generous financial support from numerous granting agencies, both public and private. SHARP is supported by grants from the following agencies, and we thank each and every one of them.

  • The National Science Foundation (Award #0810096), for the period 9/3/2008 - 9/2/2010
  • The Institute for Aegean Prehistory (InstAP), for the years 2007-2010
  • The Loeb Classical Library Foundation, for the years 2007-2008
  • The Stavros Niarchos Foundation, through a grant to the University of Pennsylvania, for the years 2007-2009
  • The University of Pennsylvania, for the years 2007-2009
  • The University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology, for the year 2010
  • The University Research Foundation of the University of Pennsylvania, for the year 2011
  • The Arete Foundation, Philadelphia, for the years 2010-2011
  • The Florida State University, for the years 2007-2011

We are fortunate to have had so many talented individuals participate in SHARP. These individuals include:


  • Amy Dill (Florida State University), lab director and ceramic specialist
  • Debra Trusty (Florida State University), laboratory and ceramic assistant, 2007-2010

Team Leaders

  • Dr. Eleni Drakaki (InstAP), survey team leader 2007 and 2009
  • Miriam Clinton (University Pennsylvania), survey team leader and GIS, 2007-2011
  • Dr. Lita Tzortopoulou-Gregory (Ohio State University), oral history and survey team leader, 2007-2010
  • Ann Morgan (University of Texas-Austin), Total Station mapping team leader, 2007-2009
  • Donna Nagle (Florida State University), documentation team leader, 2007-2010
  • Christian Teuchtler (University of Pennsylvania), survey team leader, 2008

Geology, GIS, Database, and Mapping Specialists

  • Prof. Rick Dunn (Norwich University), geologist, 2007-2009
  • Dr. Richard Rothaus (Trefoil Cultural Resources), GIS and geology, 2007 and 2009
  • Prof. Joseph Boyce (McMaster University), geology, 2008-2009
  • Prof. Doug Edwards (University of Puget Sound), GPS mapping, 2007
  • Ben Gourley (York University), GPS mapping, 2007, 2009 -2011
  • Patrick Gibbs (York University), GPS mapping and aerial photography, 2007
  • Michael Charno (York University), GPS mapping and aerial photography, 2009-2011
  • Prof. Chris Mundigler (University of Victoria), GPS mapping, 2007
  • Sarah Murray (Stanford University), GIS and team member, 2008-2011
  • Flint Dibble (University of Cincinnati), GIS and team member, 2007-2009
  • Charlie Harper (Florida State University), database and GIS, 2007-2011
  • Devin Collins (Norwich University), geology assistant and crew member, 2007-2008
  • Greg Miller (Norwich University), geology assistant, 2008
  • Ethan Thomas (Norwich University), geology assistant, 2009
  • Peter Dao (McMaster University), geology assistant, 2009
  • Kostas Xenikakis (Athens), 2009, balloon photography
  • Symeon Gesafides (Athens), 2009, balloon photography


  • Andrew Howell, architect, 2007
  • Max Farrar, architect, 2008
  • Giuliana Bianco, architect, 2009-2011
  • Dr. Phil Sapirstein (University of Pennsylvania), architect, 2009-2011
  • Ross Cockrell (University of Pennsylvania), architecture assistant, 2009
  • Eduardo Escobar (Columbia University), architecture assistant, 2009 -2010
  • Emily Leckvarcik (University of Pennsylvania), architecture assistant, 2010
  • Crista McDonald (University of Pennsylvania), architecture assistant, 2009
  • Katie Simon (University of Arkansas), architecture and 3D mapping, 2011
  • Abigail Smith (University of Pennsylvania), architecture assistant, 2010
  • Prof. Chris Stackowicz (Bethel College), architecture and photography, 2011
  • Emily Stevens (Bryn Mawr College), architecture assistant, 2009-2010
  • Jessica Yang (University of Pennsylvania), architecture assistant, 2010

Team Members

  • Dr. Emily Anderson (Yale University), 2008-2010
  • David Anjelly (University Pennsylvania), 2008
  • Dr. Caitie Barrett (Yale University), 2008
  • David Blome (University of Pennsylvania), 2009
  • Prof. Kim Bowes (Cornell University), 2007
  • Gwenyth Cavin (Bryn Mawr College), 2008-2009
  • Ava Childers (University of Pennsylvania), 2007-2010
  • Alex Clapp (University of Pennsylvania), 2011
  • Prof. Timothy Gregory (Ohio State University), oral history and survey, 2008-2010
  • Katherine Harrell (University of Sheffield), 2007
  • Alexis Jackson (University of Pennsylvania), 2011
  • Kyle Jazwa (Florida State University), 2009-2010
  • Colleen Kron (University of Pennsylvania), 2009
  • Lynne Kvapil (University of Cincinnati), 2008-2010
  • Hüseyin Öztürk (University of Cincinnati), 2007-2009
  • Phung Phan (University of Pennsylvania), 2009
  • Angelina Phebus (College of Charleston), 2009
  • Amanda Reiterman (University of Pennsylvania), 2007-2008
  • Abby Scheel (Florida State University), 2008
  • Hayley Singleton (Florida State University), 2008-2009
  • Adam Stack (Harvard University), survey, architecture, and artist, 2007-2010
  • Christina Trego (Florida State University), 2008
  • Abbey Turner (University of Texas-Austin), 2008-2009

Other Visiting Specialists

  • Prof. P. Nick Kardulias (Wooster College), lithics, 2009-2010
  • Prof. Bill Parkinson (Field Museum, Chicago), lithics, 2009-2010
  • Dóri Kékegyi (Field Service for Cultural Heritage, Hungary), lithics illustrator, 2010
  • Prof. Curtis Runnels (Boston University), lithics, 2011
  • Priscilla Murray (Boston University), lithics, 2011
  • Dr. Tatiana Theodoropoulou (Wiener Laboratory, American School of Classical Studies at Athens), shell, 2010
  • Prof. Jeremy B. Rutter (Dartmouth College), pottery, 2007-2008
  • Prof. Cynthia Shelmerdine (University of Texas-Austin), pottery, 2008
  • Prof. Kim Shelton, (University of California-Berkeley), pottery, 2007
  • Dr. Mary Dabney (Bryn Mawr College), pottery, 2007
  • Prof. Jim Wright (Bryn Mawr College), architecture, 2007
  • Prof. Chris Pfaff (Florida State University), architecture, 2007
  • Dr. Walter Gauss (Austrian Institute at Athens), architecture, 2007
Legacy Sort
Legacy Priority